It’s been a long time coming…

I’m sitting at a Bread Co. in Brentwood, so ready to finally launch this blog. It’s been a long time coming. For months I avoided it simply because I didn’t understand the blogosphere and it’s purpose. Then, I was certain I didn’t have anything profound enough to write about. However, this summer, I really began to feel the weight of knowing a God who speaks profound truth and creativity into me each and every day. 

 And so I will write.  

After I decided that I would indeed blog, I struggled for weeks with a blog title. Around in circles I went, trying to combine just the right sequence of words that would properly convey my intentions. An Undivided (he)Art speaks, in many ways, to the purpose I hope to achieve- not simply with this blog, but with my art, with my life. I am a musician, an artist, and I have been called to creativity by a creative God. I have also been given a deep burden to be one who bridges the gap between art in the church and art outside of the church. Yes, art within the church does have a place, a necessary place, a biblical place; however, I have seen that many of those outside of the church do not care about our nice little church “worship” songs sung to this “far-off” God until they know exactly who He can be to them. They need to know how He affects their daily lives, how He can meet them in the broken places of their lives now. We, as artists, regardless of our medium, need to be creating art that draws people into the church, art that lets the world know that we are in the same place and going through the same things, but we have a God who is bigger than any solution the world can offer.  

This has become my prayer- that our art would unite believers and unbelievers alike. That our art would stir up spiritual conversations. That our art would be creativehonest, and transparent in its approach; never casual or complacent. That our art would be culturally relevant. That our art would both bold enough to reach out into the current art community and revolutionary enough to build new communities of artists. 

God, give us undivided hearts that we may create art that breaks down barriers of irrelevance, charges past cultural and religious limitations, and shatters the clouded windows of separation. Give us courage to step out of our comfort zones and boldness to break free of the chains that years of ritual and routine have placed on us. We believe that You want to move through our art. Show us the broken areas in the lives of those nearby, and teach us how to demonstrate the Gospel’s relevance to them, even in their pain. Bring change through creativity. 

“And I, because of what they have planned and done am about to come and gather the people of all nations and languages, and they will come and see my glory.” Isaiah 66:18

~ by Brittany Howard on October 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “It’s been a long time coming…”

  1. Wow! I know that God has incredible plans for you. Be patient as He molds, makes, and places you exactly where He wants you. I love you!

  2. I look forward to reading the thoughts God gives you.
    There you go!

  3. […] have wanted to initiate this type of community among artists. In fact, that was part of the reason I began this blog. Not necessarily to use it as a tool for community (though I believe the blogosphere is a unique […]

Leave a Reply

 
