I’m going exploring…

About two weeks ago, I quit my job. Well, one of them. I’d been working there for just over a year and finally decided that it was time I started actively pursuing some of the things God has really burdened me for. The weekend before I quit, I was at home and had gone to a new coffee shop downtown and was just so reminded of my love for that environment, that community, those people. I came back to STL wondering why I had failed to acquaint myself with the arts community I’m just miles away from everyday. I realized that I had spent a year with absolutely no concept of what the Saint Louis artist community looked like. And to be one who proclaimed that I wanted to bridge the gap between arts in the church and arts outside of the church, I sure wasn’t actively pursuing that calling. So…I quit my job with intentions to spend the hours I would normally be working immersing myself in that culture instead. 

That night I wrote the following in my journal:

I quit my job today. I have no guarantee for a job next semester…I don’t know what’s going to happen, but I know this: I cannot sit around and do nothing about the things I’m called to.

  • I have been called to music
  • I have been called to creativity by a creative God
  • I have been called to immerse myself in a culture and to show them the Gospel’s relevance
  • I have been called to bridge the gap

I quit my job and I must be intentional with my free time now. I think that I will begin to seek out the art community here in St. Louis…I think I will make Mondays my “explore and immerse” day. I need to do this. I need to reach out to the creative minds around me…I need to be Jesus to them. 

“Give me Your eyes for just one second. Give me Your eyes so I can see everything that I’ve been missing. Give me Your love for humanity.”  -Brandon Heath, “Give Me Your Eyes”

Currently, I am sitting in The Coffee Cartel in the CWE, praying that God would give me a heart for these people. That he would break my heart for the girl with pink hair behind the counter, the SLU student at the table next to me, the asian woman who keeps staring at me, the first-date couple sitting outside. I pray that the more time I spend in these places teeming with life and culture, the more opportunities I would be given to engage in conversation with them. I pray that I would recognize Him working all around me and that I would be willing to step out of my comfort zone that I might better reach out into the world around me.

~ by Brittany Howard on November 4, 2008.

One Response to “I’m going exploring…”

  1. Oh I LOVE your blog name!! I think it was worth the wait!

Leave a Reply

 
