After a Year…

First of all, let me apologize for my absence. The past few weeks have been a bit crazy. I’m sure you can all relate. This time of year always seems to get that way…back-to-back holidays, the school semester coming to a close, etc… And is it just me or does seem so crazy to anyone else that it’s Christmas time again? This semester has just flown by.  Actually, this past year has moved more quickly than I anticipated (or wished for at times).

I got to go home for Thanksgiving and was actually able to be there for more than just a night. It was so good to be home. So good to not have to rush back for something that seemed more pressing. My family and I wound up pulling an all-nighter on Thanksgiving in order to brave the Black friday sales–I know, we had a slight lapse in judgment–but as absolutely insane as it was, it was such fun to be able to make memories with the people I love the most yet see the least.

At the same time, I must confess that it was a bit strange to be home for that length of time. I’m starting to realize just how much my life has changed in the past year. It’s almost surreal when I really stop to think about it. A little over a year ago, I left for college full of expectations and  dreams, and I settled into St. Louis, ready to see them all come to fruition. I had no idea how much my life would be transformed in 12 short months. 

The past year and a half has been a complete season of brokenness. A year of broken dreams, broken promises, broken hearts. I have been both the recipient and the giver of these things. And I have felt the weight they each bring. But at the end of the day, I have learned that brokenness is what cultivates faithfulness. Brad Andrews, my director, teacher, and mentor spoke once about brokenness, stating: “Broken people pursue the heart of God.” I have seen this firsthand and found it to be true. If we weren’t broken, we wouldn’t understand a need for restoration. God allows these broken places in our lives in order that we might more wholeheartedly chase after Him.

“The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.”  Psalm 51:17

~ by Brittany Howard on December 9, 2008.

4 Responses to “After a Year…”

  1. It’s normally weird for me, as well, when I go back home.

    Brokenness is not a thing someone can learn without experiencing. That’s for sure.

  2. […] friend, Brittany Howard, wrote a short, but strong, blog post on how brokenness is essential in our pursuit of […]

  3. The more you can come to understand this concept, you’ll continue to search for a deeper relationship with Christ. Keep reaching for him, he’s got his hand out there…

  4. Great site. I’m glad a certain someone directed me your way.

    I want to actively encourage you in your pursuit of bringing the art of music together in St. Louis. What an awesome dream.

Leave a Reply

 
