Christmastime is here.

 

Hello!! I cannot believe Christmas is so stinkin’ close!! I’m tellin’ you, this year has flown by! I think I’m done with all my Christmas shopping; however, a far more daunting task awaits me…wrapping. Gross. I started to wrap a few things last week and I still have little pieces of multi-colored paper floating around my room. Sigh. It must be done; there is no choice. 

I must say I am excited for Christmas though. Two of my roommates are coming down to celebrate with my family, and I can’t wait! Tomorrow, I plan on spending the majority of my afternoon in Maw-Maw’s kitchen, baking away. We’re going to attempt to make a gingerbread house (I’ll let you know how that turns out…it could be interesting). Also, I watched “The Nativity Story” last night. I love that movie! It stirs something up within me every time I watch it. (And I’ve watched it at least 4 times now). There is something so moving about seeing the story of my Savior brought to life. To see the life and culture of Mary and Joseph; to understand their struggles, their heartache, their fear; to see the road they traveled; to sense the gravity of the birth of this King. It’s a pretty phenomenal story we celebrate.  I pray that we don’t neglect it’s transforming power in our lives even today. 

In other news…I’ve got a few things I’m looking forward to  just over the horizon.

  1. December 29 & 30, I will be playing at the Illinois Youth Encounter. I will be performing my original song, “Never Walked Away,” which you can listen to here. The rest of the weekend, I will be representing MOBAP and the Worship Arts program. I’m excited about this opportunity as I will not only be able to share my music and ministry with a multitude of students, but also because I will be working alongside some pretty great fellow artists. Pocket Full of Rocks, Stephanie Smith, and Brock Gill are just a few. Please be praying for me as I travel to Springfield, Illinois next week! I’ll keep you updated!!     
  2. I’m currently working on an upcoming project/event with a dear friend of mine, Harry Walls. I can’t say too much about it yet, but I will say that I’m really excited!  We’re hoping that this event will eventually become a sustainable event that reaches out into the artist community and creates a forum for songwriters and artists of all sorts. There are still plenty of details that need to worked out, and I will be sure to pass them on to you in the very near future, but for the time being, you should probably go ahead and mark your calendars for February 6th…that’s all I’m gonna say for now. Check back for more details!!

Okay, I suppose that’s enough for now…I feel like I have tons more to write though, so keep checkin’ in. I’ll do my best to get it all out over the next few weeks. In the meantime,  I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas! Don’t miss Him for any reason!!

~ by Brittany Howard on December 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
